Politics & Policy

Governor sacks cabinet

Udom Emmanuel

Udom Emmanuel

Gov. Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom,  has sacked his entire cabinet.

This is contained in a statement issued in Uyo on Saturday by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Etekamba Umoren, .

Umoren directed the Permanent Secretaries to take over from the commissioners pending the formation of a new cabinet.

According to the statement, the governor expressed gratitude to the outgoing cabinet members for their services to the state.

READ ALSO  Governor suspends Head of Service, 4 commissioners, Adviser

The statement added that Emmanuel wished them success in their future endeavours.

Majority of the outgoing commissioners had been in the state executive council since 2007, when Sen. Godswill Akpabio,  was in charge of the state.

Akpabio, against all opposition, virtually installed Emmanuel as his successor.

However, no reason was given for the sack.

Those sacked are Mr Uwemedimo Nwoko, Attorney-General/Commissioner for Justice; Mr Akan Okon, Commissioner for Finance, and Dr Mathew Ekaette, Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources.

READ ALSO  Ohaneze in search of credible Igbo political leaders, says VP

Others are Mr Ephraim Inyang-eyen, Commissioner for Works; Prince Godwin Ntukude,  Transport; Aniekan Akpan, Education; Dr Dominic Ukpong, Health, Uwem Ita Etuk, Lands/Town Planning; and Mr Enobong Uwah, Housing and Urban Renewal.

Also affected in the dissolution order are Dr Iniobong Essien, Commissioner for Environment and Mineral Resources; Mr Aniekan Umanah, Information and Communications; Victor Antai, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; Emmanuel Enoidem, Investment, Commerce and Industry; Ekong Sampson, Rural Development, and Dr Emmanuel Ating Onwioduokit, Economic Planning and Development.

READ ALSO  APC Deputy chairman accuses politicians of complicity in herdsmen attacks

The other affected cabinet members were Dr Elizabeth Obot, Commissioner for Science and Technology; Otuekong Udo-Ibiok, Culture and Tourism; Dr Glory Edet, Women Affairs and Social Welfare; Monday Uko, Youths and Sports, and Etido Inyang, Special Duties.

To Top